Get cosy with us!

Hi there! We are Alicia and Ajay, the founders of Ishani Designs. Sit back, put your feet up and let's get to know each other a little better.


Ajay and I create beautiful hand block printed clothing and accessories. We designed in Brisbane, Australia and they made by master Indian artisans in Rajasthan (where Ajay is from).

Wet met almost 10 years ago in India, have been married for nearly 8 and have our first baby due in a matter of weeks! With a split life between India and Australia, together we share a love for artisan created hand block printed fabrics and beautiful easy-wear, slowly made clothing that bucks the trend of today's fast-paced disposable fashion industry. 

You can read more about our journey and how we ended up running Ishani on our 'About Us' page here ishanidesigns.com.au/pages/about-us

However, for the purpose of this blog post, I wanted to get a little more personal than just speaking about how we got into biz, so we are answering some of the questions you had for us! Happy reading!

Question: Where did you grow up? 

Alicia: I was born in Canberra, moved to Darwin when I was a toddler, then Cairns and later to Brisbane where I completed high school. 

Ajay: I was born in a small town called Merta City which is in rural Rajasthan in India. I grew up in small village close by, then later spent some time in Delhi and did my studies in Jaipur. 

Question: As a child, what did you wish to become when you grew up?

Alicia: I wanted to be a hairdresser, florist or a police woman. 

Ajay: As a child I wanted to be living in Jaipur and running my own business. 

Question: What's your fondest childhood memory?

Alicia: I think living in Cairns was my favourite time of my childhood. We'd walk around barefoot, go to the beach, play in the water sprinkler when it was hot, ride our bikes and enjoy what was pretty much a typical Aussie summer all year round!

Ajay: When I was a kid, my grandfather owned a huge amount of farm land in his village. He would take my brother and I to his farm on a bull cart and even sometimes let us ride it! We would pick fruit off the trees, veges from the garden and fill drums with water (we had no running water in the house at the time) and later we would take it all back to my family. We had a pet dog called Johnny who was our best friend. Johnny would also come to the farm with us. On the very hot days Johnny, my brother and I would all jump into a concrete tub that was filled with fresh water to cool down. 

Question: What are the 3 best things about your partner?

Alicia: He always wants everyone around him to be comfortable and happy. He has been incredibly supportive during what has been a pretty rough pregnancy. He really enjoys the little things in life like a nice breeze or the birds chirping in the morning.  

Ajay: She's a great cook. She has amazing taste and is very creative. She is the most honest and loyal person I have ever met. 


Question: What accomplishment are you most proud of?

Alicia: I'd have to say marrying Ajay and growing a baby!

Ajay: Marrying my beautiful wife Alicia and having a baby on the way.

Question: What's the most beautiful place you've ever been to and why?

Alicia: Oh this is tricky...there are so many beautiful places. The beaches here in Australia can't really be beaten. We are so lucky to live in such beautiful country!  

Ajay: Sunshine Coast. Everything is there! Beautiful beaches, green hinterland, community, markets and friendly people.

Question: On a day off from work, what's your favourite thing to do?

Alicia: I really like to go to the local vege market, then for a swim in the ocean and then come home to cook a healthy feast with all the delicious produce I picked up from the markets.

Ajay: I like to watch movies, listen to Bollywood music and go to the beach.

Question: If you could eat only 3 foods for the rest of your life, what would they be?

Alicia: Chocolate, laksa and ever since I've had a few pregnancy cravings I'd have to add Boost Juice Mango Tango to that list even though it's technically a drink. 

Ajay: Chicken curry, dahl and chapati... can I include beer? Haha! 

Question: Where do you see yourself in 5 years from now?

Alicia: Living in a cute little house near the beach with a couple of happy kids and a dog. Maybe with a little Ishani retail store? That could be fun!

Ajay: Living on the Sunshine Coast with a couple of kids and my wife. Alicia and I will be running an even better and more beautiful Ishani. 


Ajay and I on our wedding day.

Celebrating Diwali.

At a friends wedding in India.

Celebrating Holi!

Hello from India!

Just about to watch the Gangaur parade in Jaipur.

At Woodford Folk Festival 18/19- me 25 weeks pregnant.

Another one from Woodford.

From a recent shoot we did earlier in the year.

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published